The Brazilian Symposium on Geoinformatics (GEOINFO) is an annual conference for exploring research, development, and innovative applications in geographic information science and related areas. Papers should describe original ongoing or recently finished work. A scientific committee will review the submissions.

Over the years, the GEOINFO series have brought to Brazil the leading researchers on GIScience and Spatial Databases to present the local community a perspective of the state-of-the-art in these areas. The following distinguished researchers participated as guests speakers of GEOINFO: Max Egenhofer, Gary Hunter, Andrew Frank, Roger Bivand, Mike Worboys, Werner Kuhn, Stefano Spaccapietra, Ralf Guting, Shashi Shekhar, Christopher Jones, Martin Kulldorff, Andrea Rodriguez, Max Craglia, Stephen Winter, Edzer Pebesma, Fosca Giannotti, Christian Freksa, Thomas Bittner, Markus Schneider, Helen Couclelis, Randolph W. Franklin, Paul Brown, Michael Batty, Ahmed Eldawy, Clodoveu A. Davis Jr., Duncan Smith, André Lage Freitas, Joana Barros, Claudia Bauzer Medeiros, Alexey A. Voinov, Cláudia T. Codeço, and Gregory Giuliani.

GEOINFO 2021 will be online. The registration is free of charge and will give access to the digital platform used to hold the symposium, thus facilitating the interaction with presenters in the Q&A sessions.

Important Dates

Paper submission deadline: September 19, 2021
Notification of acceptance: October 29, 2021
Camera-ready submission deadline: November 17, 2021
Symposium: November 29 to December 02, 2021

Keynote Speakers

The Copernicus Climate Data Store
Dr. Baudouin Raoult, European Centre for Mediun-Range Weather Forecast (ECMWF), England
Geospatial data on the web (in the era of REST, JSON and OpenAPI)
Dr. Joana Simoes, Developer Relations, Open Geospatial Consortium (OGC)
Photogrammetry Meets Proximal Remote Sensing
Dr. Antonio M. G. Tommaselli, São Paulo State University (UNESP), SP, Brazil


Lubia Vinhas
National Instituto for Space Research, INPE, Brazil
General Chair

Alan J. Salomão Graça
State University of Rio de Janeiro, UERJ, Brazil
Program Chair